Inspired by Our Northern Neighbors

I was going to be lazy and not do a post today since I’m a day off due to the election. (It’s a holiday in my house. Feel free to judge.) But, apparently my dinner is going to be another two hours. I really need to learn how to read the entire recipe before I decide to make it for dinner. I’ll tell you all about the veal loaf and baked lima beans cooked in a “slow oven” at a later date.

Tonight, I’m going to tell you about the other election party dessert I made. So, we had cake for the Americans, and there were a few Canadians in attendance as well. Now, we all know that Canadians don’t like cake. (I just made that up. The Canadian I live with is not enthusiastic about cake, so I use him to make assumptions about the entire nation.)

Anyway, I decided to make a few pots de crème, but with maple syrup. Because as we all know Canadians can’t get enough of the stuff. (Hey, why stop with just one base assumption? Let’s go for a trifecta.) This recipe is a bit from my culinary school recipes and a bit from my head—hence the mix of weights and standard recipe measurements. Have fun.

Maple Pots de Crème

Makes 4-6 servings depending upon the size of your ramekins

  • 4 oz eggs (usually about 4-5)
  • 2 oz egg yolks (1 should do it)
  • 4 oz sugar
  • ¼ t salt
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 C heavy cream
  • 1 C milk
  • ⅓ C maple syrup
  • Nutmeg, for serving

Arrange custard cups in a shallow baking pan and preheat your oven to 325°.

Combine the eggs, egg yolk, sugar, salt, and vanilla in a mixing bowl. Mix until thoroughly blended, but do not whip.

Scald the cream and milk in a double boiler or in a saucepan over low heat. Once scalded, add the maple syrup. And, stir until completely blended.

Gradually pour the milk into the egg mixture, stirring constantly. (Don’t forget to temper your eggs with a few spoonfuls of hot liquid before beginning to pour in or you’ll end up with sweet scrambled eggs.)

Skim all the foam from the surface of the liquid. Carefully pour the custard mixture into the cups. If bubbles form during this step, skim them off.

Set the baking pan on the oven shelf. Pour enough hot water into the pan around the cups so the level of the water is about as high as the level of the custard mixture. Bake until set, about 45 minutes.

Carefully, remove the custard from the oven and cool. I find that it’s easiest to remove some of the hot water with a turkey baster, putting it into another bowl before trying to remove the pan from the oven. Store, covered, in the refrigerator.

Results

Well, I tried to make a maple leaf on the top with nutmeg. (For those of you keeping count… there’s your trifecta.) It didn’t turn out so well. In fact, it looked so awful that I had to just shake it around to look like this:

Maple Pot de Creme

But they tasted good. Sweet, but good. Happy American elections for Canadians!

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by trialsinfood on 11.9.2012 - 10:57 pm

    looks good, even if the maple leaf didn’t work out. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 429 other followers

