Bring on the Butternut Squash

I stupidly bought a Costco-sized container of pre-cubed butternut squash—thinking (ever hopeful) that Mr. Moo would enjoy a few cubes for dinner. So, I have a lot of butternut squash going on in my fridge. And, there’s only so much butternut squash soup one family can eat before they go insane.

Thank the heavens for the internet and the British. (I get to say that a lot more frequently than you’d think. I do work in web marketing for a multinational company.) But in this case of thankfulness, it had more to do with the BBC’s Good Food site. I’ve done the heavy lifting on this one and converted the metric measurements into American craziness (which of course means that I’ve had to round up or down).

Thai Butternut and Chicken Curry

  • 3-4 T Thai red curry paste
  • 14 oz tin coconut milk (translation can of coconut milk for those of you who don’t speak British)
  • 2 C butternut squash , peeled and cubed
  • 6 skinless chicken thighs, cut into cubes (My thighs were huge [still are in fact, but that's a story for a different day]. I actually only used three chicken thighs.)
  • 1 C cherry tomatoes
  • Fish sauce to season
  • 2 limes, 1 juiced and 1 cut into cheeks to serve
  • 2 large handfuls Thai basil, or coriander (Please don’t use coriander seeds. Those British folks mean cilantro.)

Heat the curry paste gently in a wok (I used a large sauté pan.) until it starts to fry in its own oil, add a little extra oil if it starts to stick. (I definitely had to add extra oil.) Add the coconut milk and bring to a simmer. Add the squash and simmer for 10 minutes or until it is almost tender. (This took more like 20 minutes to get to the tender state.) Add the chicken and cook for 5 minutes (more like 10 to cook all the way through), add the cherry tomatoes and cook for 2 minutes or until they just start to burst. (They must use super high cooking temps in the UK because this took more like 10 minutes. And, I still had to pop a few myself.)

Season with fish sauce (this is the equivalent of salt, so add a few drops and taste, then add more if you need it) and the lime juice and sprinkle with the herbs.

Results

I served this over rice and it was stinking fabulous. And, not unlike a green curry recipe I have made in the past. The reason that I like this one better is that it uses an entire can of coconut milk whereas the other recipe forces me to think of ways to use the ¾ C coconut milk that remains. Anyway, pretty easy one-ish (if you make rice two) pot recipe.

Thai butternut squash curry in a bowl with lime

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dia Morgan on 2.6.2013 - 5:37 pm

    Thanks Lizzie. I love butternut squash. Didn’t know Costco sold it already cut up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 426 other followers

