Here Piggy Piggy

Continuing my appetizers for dinner mood, I decided to try my hand at the king of all finger foods—pigs in a blanket. I don’t remember ever having these as a child. I think my mom was probably too afraid of the choking hazard a blanketed pig posed to my style of eating (inhale anything that seemed like junk food). By the time I could safely eat these delightful little morsels, I was old enough to fully appreciate the full-blown hot dog. (And, yes, I just realized how kinda dirty it is to put the words blown and hot dog next to each other… so, I’m with the dirty birdies reading this.)

I found this recipe on the Food Network web site so it’s a little bit more highbrow than just wrapping mini weenies in flaky crust. (Yeah, that’s right. I called pigs in a blanket highbrow. I know I’m slipping. Call it depression, call it motherhood. But I’m tired.)

Neely’s Pigs in a Blanket with Tangy Dipping Sauce

  • 1 (8 oz) can original crescent dough
  • ¼ C Dijon mustard
  • 20 mini hot dogs or cocktail franks
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • Poppy seeds or sesame seeds (I used sesame seeds.)

For the dipping sauce:

  • ½ C sour cream
  • ½ C mayonnaise
  • 3 T Dijon mustard
  • 1 T whole grain mustard

Preheat the oven to 350°. Cut each triangle of crescent roll dough into thirds lengthwise, making three small strips from each roll. Brush the dough strips lightly with Dijon mustard. Put the mini hot dogs on one end of the dough and roll up.

Arrange them, seam side down, on a greased cookie sheet. Brush with egg wash and sprinkle with seeds. Bake until golden brown, about 12-15 minutes.

While they’re baking, let’s make the sauce. Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until serving. (Can be made a day ahead.)

Serve the pigs in a blanket warm.

Results

Really, really good. I am ashamed to admit it, but I like pigs in a blanket. This was just a bunch of yum.

Pigs in a Blanket

, , , ,

  1. #1 by The Peckish Kiwi on 3.13.2013 - 5:31 pm

    No shame at all in liking that. I could probably polish of the whole lot by myself while watching a good program or enjoying a decent conversation. The hand would be moving on its own accord from plate to mouth until it was all gone.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 429 other followers

