The Devil Made Me Do It

Here’s another staple of appetizerland that I’ve never made before: deviled eggs. This Food Network recipe isn’t anything special. In fact because I omitted all of the garnishing, they were really just your basic deviled eggs.

The funny thing about this recipe is that it comes from Paula Deen and contains absolutely no butter. I know, right? There’s also no deep frying (which would make it more like a Scotch rather than devil egg… but some people consider the Scottish to be devils… so there’s that). Anyway, no butter, no lard, no oil. Just some mayo which seems pretty standard for deviled eggs.

Traditional Southern Deviled Eggs

  • 7 large eggs, hard boiled and peeled
  • ¼ C mayonnaise
  • 1½ T sweet pickle relish (I abhor sweet relish, so I used dill relish. And, it came out just fine and dandy.)
  • 1 t prepared mustard
  • Salt and pepper, for taste
  • Paprika, for garnishing
  • Sweet gherkin pickles sliced and pimentos, for garnishing (I hate both of these so I eschewed them completely.)

Halve the eggs lengthwise. Remove yolks and place in a small bowl. Mash yolks with a fork and stir in mayonnaise, pickle relish, and mustard. Add salt and pepper, to taste. Fill egg whites evenly with yolk mixture. Garnish with all the icky stuff above. Store covered in the refrigerator.

Results

A decent, easy-to-make deviled egg. Now that I’ve tried this one, I can honestly say that I prefer my eggs in salad format (egg salad sandwich being my all time favorite sandwich). But, if I have to devil eggs, these are suitable, if a bit bland. I might add a dash of Tabasco next time.

Deviled eggs on a plate

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 429 other followers

