This Week in Medieval Torture Devices

Small gray and metal instrument

Medieval torture device or something less sinister?

What Is It?

Corn cob peeler

How Does It Work?

You drag it across a raw or cooked cob of corn, and it removes the kernels in a long strip. You can then cut them up for cooking or add them as an ingredient to corn bread. If you cook the cob first, you should probably let it cool before attempting to run the peeler down it. Cooking corn on the cob and then chopping it off works well if you’re making corn salsa or adding corn to a salad.

Do I Really Need It?

No, a knife will do just fine. But, if you have trouble balancing a slippery ear of corn in a bowl in order to run a knife down it, then you should get this gadget. You might also want to think about the sharpness of your knives. If you don’t sharpen your knives (and you should… it’s super easy… here are my tips to sharpening your own knives), slicing off corn kernels can be a daunting task.

On the other hand, how much fresh de-cobbed corn do you eat? As much as I like the idea of fresh nibblets for everyone, the truth is corn is in season for a very short time. And, canned corn is readily available. (Oddly enough, I’m not a fan of frozen corn. I think it has a weird flavor. Canned corn, I can eat by the bushel. I just love sodium.)

I use mine a few times a year. And, because it was a gift (thanks, Mom!), I don’t feel like it’s a terrible waste to have around.

Where Can I Buy My Very Own?

That great bastion of gadgetry: Bed, Bath, and Beyond (I guess I’m particularly fond of the Beyond part of B3.); Amazon; Target; and any other purveyor of mid-grade kitchen implementation. Mine is made by OXO, so you can also get it at their web site.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

