I Used to Be Good at This

This is truly a sad day, a sad day indeed. There was a time when I was very good at making omelets. I mean, it’s ridiculous how good I was at making these happy, little, yellow tubes of eggy fun. I learned this skill from the master herself, Julia Child (well, a rerun of her show on PBS). She did an entire episode on omelets culminating with an omelet party. Throughout the show she went through the ratio of egg to filling, how to swirl the eggs, how to flip the omelet so it wouldn’t break, and how to slide it gently on to a plate in perfect fashion.

After practicing her bean technique, I had it down. I was an omelet queen. And, for those of you too lazy to support your local PBS station by buying the old Julia Child shows, someone has loaded the how to portion on YouTube. I would recommend finding the entire episode though, because it’s crazy how many omelets she churns out at the end.

(Don’t you just love that woman?) Anyway, back to my omelet prowess; I rocked it. Then, I went to culinary school and my mad cap skills fell apart. As evidenced by this latest fiasco. (Hey, I promised to bring you the rough with the smooth, kids.)

To make an omelet, you start out with a small fry pan, heat it up, add a bit of butter, and add the eggs (which you have whisked together with a touch of water or milk). Make sure you add a thin layer of eggs. Let it start to cook through.

Omelet Beginning

Then, as Julia illustrates go crazy with the swirling and shaking. Fold it over itself as you tip it outside of the pan. And, lovely plain omelet for the eating.

But, let’s say you want to add filling? Well, then you follow the culinary school technique. Cook up your filling first (again because this is an egg recipe, you want to cook out as much liquid as you can). I went with mushrooms, tomatoes, and a bit of grated cheese. The idea is to get the eggs to an almost cooked state, add the filling to one side, and do the flipping motion so that the filling is wrapped in eggs.

Omelet with Filling

It’s hard to tell in this picture, but the egg is almost done (you can sort of see the bubbling of the finished egg). Here is where I made two critical mistakes:

  1. Too much filling. I always overload my omelets, forgetting that less is more when it comes to filling.
  2. Too close to the edge of the omelet. I didn’t have enough room to do the proper flip. Either I needed to go with a larger pan (this is a 7-inch which is super small for a two-egg filled omelet, but the perfect size for a one-egg plain or cheese omelet) OR I needed to put the filling more toward the center.

Because this is what happened to my lovely omelet.

Not Really an Omelet

Oh, does that look like scrambled eggs with bits of filler in it? Yes, yes it does. Mostly because that’s exactly what my omelet turned into–glorified scrambled eggs. With this sad batch of egg mess, I will not be having a Julia Child-inspired last minute omelet dinner party for 300 people.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide on 4.12.2011 - 8:32 pm

    It happens to all of us.:)

Leave a Reply

