Mother’s Day and Brunch: Yes, I’m Just That Traditional

Happy Mother’s Day to all of the mothers and grandmothers out there. This was my first Mother’s Day as a mom myself. And, honestly, I kinda liked it. But, I generally enjoy Sundays for their implied sunshiny-ness and slow pace. After taking the boy to his “music” class (yes, we are doing the obligatory Wiggleworms class at the Old Town School of Folk Music), we met up with Paul’s mom and sister for a bit of brunching at Café Selmarie in Lincoln Square.

The café is on that weirdo part of Lincoln Avenue that’s only one way and looks all quaint and what not. The interior itself is also very quaint, but in an open and airy way. There’s usually a bit of a wait for a table, but that’s fine as they have the park right next door (the fountain was loaded with bubbles when we went today and the children were loaded with sugar judging by the running in circles that was being accomplished.)

What We Ate

I had a standard eggs Benedict which was neither too creamy nor too lemony. I say it was standard because it was exactly as eggs Benedict should be–English muffin, Canadian bacon, poached egg, and hollandaise sauce. They came with little crunchy potatoes and a few wedges of fruit (pineapple and the dreaded cantaloupe… I say dreaded because it is never ripe or juicy or tasty yet is ubiquitous in every brunch setting).

Paul had the chilaquiles casserole. It’s basically eggs and corn tortillas loaded with meat, cheese, sour cream, and chile sauce. In other words, a small heart attack waiting to happen. So, of course, Paul loved it. Our son managed to “eat” half a pancake. I use the quotes as most of it ended up on the floor. And, before you get too nasty on me, I was a good parental person and scooped up most of the bits into a napkin before we left. I refuse to be the person with the messy child. (I know… I know… it’s going to happen sooner or later, but I’m at least hoping not until after he can talk or walk.)

Paul’s mom went with the brioche French toast (served with macerated berries as the menu kindly indicates). It’s a nice way of saying it’s covered in berry syrup/juice. They looked thick and fabulous though. Paul’s sis ordered the buttermilk griddlecakes which also looked like they came with some sort of fun berry syrup/juice.

What We Drank

Café Selmarie has an extensive selection of mixed drinks and wines. (They also serve lunch and dinner.) We all had coffee and water. After the coffee I had at home, the coffee at brunch, and the allergy pill I took, I ended up a bit jittery the rest of the day. In fact, I think my buzz might finally be wearing off, but I can’t quite tell. (I will probably re-read this post in the morning and think, “Yeah, not so much you over-stimulated dork.”)

Anyway, this is a yum-tastic place for brunch. I’ve never been for any other meal, but they got their start as a bakery so the pastries are always worth your time.

Location: 4729 N. Lincoln Avenue. Street parking is available and there are ample lots up and down Lincoln. They offer call ahead seating for brunch (although we called ahead and still had to wait a half an hour for our table).

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

