Bananas for Bread

We’ve all been there… a few bananas hanging limply from the banana hook just a bit past yummy, but still not to moldy. Oh, what to do? What to do? Stop your moaning and make some banana bread. It’s too hard and never comes out right! I said stop your moaning. I’m here with a fool-proof banana bread recipe. But… Don’t even start with me. I said fool-proof, what I meant to say was idiot-proof.

I’ve made this recipe dozens of times and it always come out perfectly. (As we all know, I suck at the baked goods aspect of the kitchen. So, if I can make it… See? Told you it was idiot-proof.) Crispy on the outside, and as much as I hate the word, moist on the inside. And, major bonus factor, it takes all of 15 minutes to put together. This fine recipe comes from the ladies of the Venetian Women’s Club of Mutual Benefit. The group was founded in 1936 by about 30 women from the Venice area–my grandmother being one of those founding members. Back in the mid-1990s, they published one of those lovely fundraising cookbooks, The Venetian Kitchen. My grandmother gave me my copy for Christmas 1994.

Yes, banana bread that traditional of Italian desserts. I bring it to you now.

Banana Nut Bread

  • 1½ C flour
  • 1 t baking soda
  • ½ t salt
  • ½ C soft butter or margarine (1 stick)
  • 1 C sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t vanilla
  • ½ C chopped nuts (I usually use walnuts or pecans.)
  • 1 C mashed bananas (3-4)
  • ½ C thick sour cream (plain full fat yogurt will work as well)

Preheat oven to 350°. Grease standard loaf pan. (I typically just take the stick of butter and run it around the inside.)

Sift together first three ingredients. Combine butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla in bowl; cream for 1½ minutes. Add banana, sour cream, nuts, and flour mixture. Blend well (but don’t over mix).

Pour into prepared loaf pan. Bake for one hour or until done. (I usually check it after an hour by sliding a clean knife into the center. Then, I usually need an extra 5-10 minutes.)

Results

Like I said, it comes out pretty well.

Banana Nut Bread

Good for breakfast with coffee or later in the afternoon with tea. It also makes a simple dessert. I like mine with a smidge of cold butter on top. Oh, and it travels well so works for pot lucks. Seriously, even if you hate banana bread, you’ll like this one. Besides, what do you have to lose? A few overly mushy bananas?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by ken on 12.14.2011 - 2:12 pm

    what is a put luck? no spell check would work on that one.

    • #2 by e.marie on 12.15.2011 - 3:17 pm

      i know, i’m getting bad when it comes to reviewing my own work… i’ve corrected it… sorry!

  2. #3 by Bam's Kitchen on 12.15.2011 - 10:00 am

    Looks very moist. I would love to add some raisins to the recipe as well.

Leave a Reply

