Easy Butternut Squash Soup

I’m forever trying to introduce vegetables that I hate into the diet of my toddler without having to eat any myself. I have never been a fan of the squash family. I don’t like zucchini unless it’s deep fried. I absolutely loathe pumpkin pie. Don’t even get me started on butternut squash. It’s the texture, people. It just tastes like goopy mouth. And, because it is ick in my mouth, I couldn’t even try to like the taste.

Until my friend made me her butternut squash soup for me. It was really very good. I had to admit that I like the taste of butternut squash, just not the texture. So, I went off to find a simple recipe that didn’t involve roasting a butternut squash. (In my quest to fill Mr. Moo’s diet with squash, I came across pre-cubed squash at Costco. Like me, my son hates the squash in cube form but totally digs in soupized.)

I found my starter recipe at the Whole Foods web site. And, then I made a few of changes.

Butternut Squash Soup

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 2 large carrots, diced
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 6-8 C cubed butternut squash, cubed (If you’re using squash in full form, I would use maybe one or two and roast them for a bit in a 450° oven. The roasting just makes the squash easier to cut.)
  • ½ t chopped fresh thyme
  • 6 C homemade stock (If you use store-bought, make sure you get low-sodium.)
  • ¼ C heavy cream
  • Sea salt and ground black pepper, to taste
  • Blue cheese, as a garnish

Heat olive oil in a large soup pot over medium-high heat. Add carrot, celery, and onion. Cook until vegetables have begun to soften and onion turns translucent, 3 to 4 minutes. Add butternut squash and thyme. Stir to combine with vegetables. Stir in stock. The stock shouldn’t quite cover the squash. If you put in too much liquid, the soup will be pretty thin.

Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer until squash is fork-tender, about 20 minutes. Add salt and pepper, to taste. Use an immersion blender to puree soup. Alternatively, let the soup cool slightly and carefully puree in batches in a traditional blender.

After you’ve pureed, add the cream and stir. Let simmer gently for 5 more minutes. Ladle into bowls and serve with crumbled blue cheese on top.

Results

Butternut squash soup with blue cheese crumble

This recipe makes about eight small servings or six lunch-sized servings. Mr. Moo finds this to be a fantastic use of vegetables. I like the extra kick of the blue cheese, but you could top with croutons or diced apple to add a touch of crunch.

And, the big bonus in our house is that it also freezes and reheats like a charm.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by emmycooks on 2.21.2012 - 3:44 pm

    Have you tried roasting those squash cubes in olive oil and salt at 450 until they are nice and caramelized? My kids call that ‘squash candy.’. And yes, they do know about real candy too. 🙂

    • #2 by e.marie on 2.22.2012 - 2:35 pm

      oh! i need to try that… it sounds like a great way to get over my aversion to the squishiness of squash… put a crunchy coating on them!

Leave a Reply

