A Recipe Fell in My Lap

The late-making dinner gods sent me a gift the other day. I had a pretty confluberating day at work and I hadn’t gone grocery shopping in what can be termed forever, but might have just been two weeks. I was just in a foul mood. And, staring at my nearly empty fridge with my so not helpful freezer, when I thought, “I need a bit of inspiration.”

I went to the shelf, closed my eyes, and pulled out the first book I touched. My intent was to find a starter recipe and just add to it until I could call it a meal. I looked down to see The Cook’s Encyclopedia of Vegetarian Cooking. Great, now I have to explain another meatless meal to my ever meat-loving husband. (See? Foul… just foul was my mood.)

I opened it up to a random page (183, if you care) and found an amazing recipe for pizza. Now, the whole point was to work with what I had in the pantry… so, there was a lot of swapping of ingredients. It was also a weeknight, so I wasn’t going to make my own pizza dough—especially since I had a pizza crust in the freezer already. What I am sharing with you is my supremely modified recipe based on the one that the dinner gods bestowed upon me.

Butternut Squash and Sage Pizza

  • 1 T butter, cubed
  • 2 T olive oil
  • ½ medium onion, thinly sliced
  • 6 cherry tomatoes, seeded and sliced
  • 1 butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cubed (or just use 1 lb of the pre-cubed squash you can now buy at Costco)
  • 12 sage leaves
  • 1 pre-made pizza crust
  • ¼ C marinara pasta sauce from a jar (more or less depending on how saucy you like your pizza)
  • 4 oz fresh mozzarella cheese, sliced
  • 4 oz firm goat cheese, crumbled
  • Salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 400°. In a medium bowl, toss the vegetables with the butter and oil with half of the sage leaves. Put them on a baking sheet. They will look like this:

Veggies Pre-Roast

Roast for 15-20 minutes, until tender. Remove from oven and set aside.

Raise the oven temperature to 425°.

Spread the pasta sauce on the pizza crust. Spoon the roasted squash and onion mixture over the top—leaving a ½-inch border for the crust.

Arrange the mozzarella over the squash mixture and crumble the goat cheese on top. Sprinkle with the remaining sage leaves and season with plenty of salt and pepper. Bake for 10-20 minutes, until the cheese has melted and the crust is golden.

Results

This pizza brightened my mood considerably. And, I get to add another recipe to the growing list of “I hate squash unless it’s in this form” dishes. The sad part of this whole pizza is that Mr. Moo hated it. He’s going through a phase where he doesn’t like onions or tomatoes of any sort (making pasta a pretty tough sell at the moment).

So, it’s a grown-up pizza. The sweetness of the squash is tempered by the tangy goat cheese. All around a lovely experience.

Squash and sage pizza

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

