More Soup for You

I know it’s not in season for carrot soup. (At least, I feel that carrot-based soup should be made in the winter… when fresh veggies are scarce and the weather is frightful.) But, in the past few weeks, Mr. Moo has taken a marked turn when it comes to fruits and vegetables. As in, he won’t eat them unless pulverized beyond recognition. The other night when he spit out an eggplant marinara pasta sauce, I had reached my breaking point.

You think I can’t out smart you, wee man? Well, bring it on. I can go head to head with a stubborn toddler. Just watch. I will get fruits and vegetables into you by any means necessary. And, if this means you eat soup until you no longer remember the taste of solid food, so be it.

I have a feeling that this will be the first of many, many soup experiments. Luckily, I have The Cook’s Encyclopedia of Soup.

Carrot Soup with Ginger

  • 2 T butter
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped (I used the fronds as well.)
  • 1 medium potato, chopped (I used two because they were smallish.)
  • 5½ C chopped carrots
  • 2 t minced fresh ginger root
  • 1½ qt chicken stock (Obviously, use veggie stock if you want to make this a vegetarian recipe.)
  • 7 T whipping cream (I only had whole milk on hand.)
  • Pinch of nutmeg
  • Salt and pepper

Melt the butter. Add the onion and celery and cook for about 5 minutes until soft.

Stir in the potato, carrots, ginger, and stock. (Don’t forget to scrape up the bits from the bottom of the pot to enhance the flavor.) Bring to a boil. Lower the heat to low, cover, and simmer for about 20 minutes.

Pour the soup into a food processor or blender and process until smooth. (I just pureed it in the pot with my stick blender. If you’re going to transfer the soup, be very careful not to get burned with scalding liquid.)

Return the soup to the pot. Stir in the cream and nutmeg. Add salt and pepper to taste. Reheat slowly to serve.

Results

Carrot soup in a pot

Eh. A bit bland. I would probably increase the amount of ginger next time around. But, Mr. Moo ate a ton of it, so win for the mom on this one. Or is it? This kid isn’t even 2 years old yet and he already has me making him special soups rather than eating what we eat. I have broken my cardinal rule of feeding children! Who knew that children could be so insidious? Watch out, world. Apparently, my child is an evil genius.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Emily on 5.17.2012 - 8:07 pm

    I have witnessed your son eating peas and beets. Could it be that he prefers vegetables that you loathe? And it’s not really vegetables that he hates, but the variety that you like? Perhaps you should try making yourself beets & then you won’t have to make him special meals!!

  2. #2 by emmycooks on 5.17.2012 - 10:49 pm

    That is so funny. My observation is that even toddlers who like vegetables sometimes grow into preschoolers who don’t (they get smarter and more careful about things that might be poisonous in the wild, is my guess). 🙂 Hopefully eventually they come out the other side, though, and like vegetables because they see you eating them all the time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

