Kohl-what-i? Kohlrabi!

Let’s talk kohlrabi. As in, what the f is it and what the f do you do with it? Well, I guess first question should be: Where do you get kohlrabi? The answer this summer seems to be pretty much everywhere. I decided to write about this oft ignored vegetable because I’ve been seeing it all over the place lately. People are going crazy for kohlrabi. (I guess as crazy as you can get about vegetables.)

AND then, my veg box was crammed with them this past week. I’m not that original and creative so, I’ll jump on the trendy band wagon.

Kohlrabi looks like the alien child of cabbage and rutabaga. It’s a crazy bulb with spikes and then huge leaves. Well, this might be easier:

Purple kohlrabi

Mine have been de-spiked. Kohlrabi also comes in plain green varieties.

You can eat the leaves just like you would spinach (they kind of taste like broccoli). And, obviously, you can eat the bulb part. Raw, it has the consistency of a crisp, green apple (but less watery and less sweet). The best I can describe the taste is a bit like a water chestnut (fresh, not the crappy canned kind) or a non-bitter radish.

So, kohlrabi can be cooked (steamed or mashed or fried… just like any other root vegetable). But it’s summer and I’m less inclined to be in the kitchen. Raw it is! Because they are crisp, I’d recommend cutting them very thinly if you mix them raw with salad. Kind of like this:

Kohlrabi Salad That I Made Up on the Spot for Dinner Last Night

  • 2 kohlrabi
  • 2 green onions
  • ½ bag of spring mix or other leafy bits… just not iceberg lettuce
  • Juice from ½ lemon
  • ½ t Dijon mustard
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

Cut away the kohlrabi leaves and save them for later steaming. (I thought about mixing them with the spring mix lettuce, but the leaves are just so hearty and have such a distinctive flavor that I thought better of it.)

Peel the kohlrabi (which is a shame because that lovely purple coloring has to go… but the outer layer is pretty rough and chewy.) Cut the remainder of the kohlrabi into very thin matchsticks. The thinner, the better.

Slice the green onion. Mix kohlrabi, onion, and spring mix in a bowl.

In a 1 C measuring cup, whisk the lemon juice and mustard. While continuing to whisk, slowly pour in olive oil until you have just a bit more than ¼ C of dressing. Add salt and pepper for your own taste.

Pour the dressing over the salad mix. And, you’re done. Easy summer salad!

Results

Well, for making it up on the fly, it came out pretty well. (You really can’t go wrong with a lemon juice and mustard dressing… pretty basic cheat, I’d have to say.) We had it as a side for burgers and sweet potato fries on the patio.

Kohlrabi salad

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by emmycooks on 7.3.2012 - 9:23 pm

    Sounds and looks delicious!

  2. #2 by ourdachshundsophie on 7.7.2012 - 5:20 pm

    I just tried kohlrabi for the first time today and I really liked it. I got it in my summer CSA basket and had to call the farm to find out what it was. Your recipe looks great. I actually have the green onions so I may try this tomorrow with the kohlrabi I have left.

Leave a Reply

