Irish Ladies Have the Best Pubs

Chicago has a problem with its Irish pubs. An over abundance of wood paneling and Guinness posters for the decor. The menus tend to be heavy on fish and chips and that oh so traditional Irish dish—nachos and/or potato skins. I think we’ve all been there. I’m not saying it’s bad. I’m just saying it’s been done.

Lady Gregory’s is not your “typical” Irish bar. There is wood, but it’s on the floor and the bar. One corner that has wood shelves contains books. The menu is a bit more high brow than the traditional pub, and the beverage book is a freaking book. They have more than 300 whiskeys available and probably close to 50 bottled beers. (They also have a large selection of beers on draft as well as a number of decent wines.)

I was there with a large party (sadly a going away party), so I’ll stick to what I ordered.

What I Ate

Hard Cider Steamed Mussels: The mussels are served with a toasted baguette on the side. I found that they were sitting in a soup bowl of sauce. Literally, a bowl of sauce. The cider had lemon, garlic, and tarragon. A lot of tarragon. Interesting, but off-putting. I don’t think I’d order them again.

Hearts of Palm Salad: A ridiculously sized platter with hearts of palm, avocado, and grape tomatoes. This was drizzled with a honey vinaigrette and balsamic reduction. Seriously, a load of hearts of palm and avocado. I had to share. It was that large.

Side of Sweet Potato Fries: Served with a maple syrup dip. Yum! Their fries are served in paper cones, so not just hanging out on the plate. This makes them easy to pass along the table if you’re with a large group.

Although I didn’t order it, I would like to add that they offer a side called Minted Mushy Peas. If peas are your thing, you might want to give them a whirl (hint, hint, husband of me).

What I Drank

I had a few glasses of wine over the course of the night. Rather large pours. Not ridiculous, but just large. As I mentioned, if you like to read a long list of whiskeys, this is your place.

They serve brunch and offer two specialty menus—gluten-free and children’s.

Location: 5260 N. Clark. So, the heart of Andersonville where parking is tricky but do-able.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

