Does a Dinosaur Roar?!??!

Green Dinosaur

What Is It?

Sometimes I am prissy and like to pretend that my life is more like a glossy magazine than it really is… I imagine that the screaming toddler at the dinner table really enjoys my cooking and his high-pitched wail is actually a foreign language where he is saying, “But, Mother, this linguine is divine!” At those times, I eat with pasta rakes while wearing an evening gown… often listening to Bach or some other grown-up music.

But, in fact, I have a toddler. So, dinner often involves throwing of various food objects. I’m certainly not going to wear an evening gown to that sort of event. And, I most definitely am not bringing my pasta rakes.

Instead, I’ll use this cute dinosaur to pick up my son’s pasta. Then when he throws it at my head, I will at least have the satisfaction in knowing that my rakes were not used for such nefarious purposes.

How Does It Work?

It works like your regular pasta spork, but you need to make dinosaur roaring noises while using it. Then, as the pasta falls on the plate, you should maybe make a fake vomit noise like the dino threw up the pasta. (I have a boy. I have to learn to be disgusting.)

Do I Really Need It?

Yes. Sometimes, it’s nice to remember that glossy magazines aren’t all they’re cracked up to be. And, a dinosaur that vomits pasta can make dinner enjoyable.

Where Can I Buy My Very Own?

I’m not really sure. This came to me via my sister-in-law. She is sage in the ways of the boy toddler at dinner time having gone through it three times herself. (Four if you count witnessing my husband as a boy child.)

If you want one of your own, I’m sure you can sleuth it out via the interWebs.

**The title of this post comes from one of my son’s favorite bedtime books, How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight by Jane Yolen and Mark Teague.

, , ,

  1. #1 by emmycooks on 8.23.2012 - 7:54 pm

    Ah…you obviously need a copy of How Do Dinosaurs Eat Their Food? And I am totally going to steal your sanity-saving “that must be praise in a different language” trick. 🙂

    • #2 by e.marie on 8.28.2012 - 5:41 pm

      i didn’t even know they made a food version! i will have to pick that one up! (and i’m not sure i’m sane… but i try really hard to appear that way!)

Leave a Reply

