Pumpkin Seed Season

If saints are your thing, I wish you a happy All Saints Day. For parents with little trick-or-treaters, I wish you a happy sugar coma. What better way to cut the sweetness with a bit of savory? Roasted pumpkin seeds to the rescue! This recipe is one I made up last night, and it seems to have come out pretty well. Sorry for the inexactitude of my measurements, but I didn’t measure the amount of seeds that came out of my pumpkin. The amount of seasoning you use should depend upon the largess you receive from your carved pumpkin.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

  • Pumpkin seeds from your jack-o-lantern
  • 2-4 T olive oil (seriously, I just splash it all over to coat the seeds)
  • 1-2 T cumin
  • 1-2 t chile powder
  • 1 t garlic powder
  • Several shakes of Kosher or large grain sea salt

Rinse your pumpkin seeds to clean them of all that stringy ick. If you have time, let them sit in a large bowl of water for a few hours. Strain the water. Let the pumpkin seeds dry.

Heat oven to 350°. In that large bowl that you’ve dried out, mix the pumpkin seeds and olive oil. Toss to coat. In a small bowl, mix the cumin, chile powder, and garlic powder. Then, add to the oiled pumpkin seeds. Stir to evenly coat.

On a large, rimmed baking sheet (I use a half sheet pan.), lay out your pumpkin seeds. Liberally shake with the salt. (I like salty pumpkin seeds.)

Roast in oven until just browned. I’d say this could take anywhere from 45 minutes to 1 hour and 15 minutes. I usually set my oven timer for 20 minute intervals. Each time the timer goes off, I give the seeds a stir with a metal spoon (I find that the seeds tend to stick to a wood spoon early in the cooking process.) and then I turn the baking sheet.

Results

This is a small bowl of the yum. In fact, I filled a rather large Pyrex with seeds. They’ll keep in an airtight container on the counter for quite a while.

Pumpkin seeds in a bowl

And, because I can’t resist… I pulled my seeds from the large pumpkin on the right. The blue pumpkin was minimally carved so we didn’t get the seeds out of it. And, the pumpkin on the left is a spider that my sister did. (She’s very creative.)

Mr. Moo and pumpkins at our front door

Oh, and that’s Mr. Moo dressed as his favorite monster.

, , ,

  1. #1 by recipeshappen on 11.1.2012 - 5:44 pm

    It has been far too long since I roasted pumpkin seeds! Thanks for the reminder!

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

Leave a Reply

