Winter Dessert

When last we spoke, I did a rundown of what I made for Thanksgiving—leaving off the dessert. I feel like this dessert shouldn’t be tied to just one night of turkey debauchery. This might be my go-to cake when eggnog is in season. (Yup, you heard me. This is a busting out the Yule log kind of sweet.)

Of course, it came from epicurious.com. Because I’m such a lousy baker, I didn’t make any changes for fear of destroying something tasty.

Spiced Apple Cake with Eggnog Sauce

  • ½ C raisins or dried cranberries (I did a mix… half raisins, half Craisins)
  • 3 T Applejack, dark or golden rum, or warm water (I was not about to buy an entire bottle of Applejack so I used dark rum… and yes, I have dark rum on hand… judge me.)
  • 2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • ½ t baking soda
  • 1 t ground allspice
  • 1 t ground cinnamon
  • 1 t freshly grated nutmeg
  • ¼ t ground cloves
  • ½ t salt
  • 1 C (packed) light brown sugar, sifted
  • 1 C granulated sugar
  • 1 C (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 3 Golden Delicious apples, peeled, cored, and cut into ½” dice (about 4 C)
  • 1 C (4 oz) pecans, coarsely chopped
  • ⅓ C crystallized ginger, finely chopped (They sell these in bulk at Whole Foods, except apparently the week of Thanksgiving. So, I had a mild heart attack and then found them packaged in the candy aisle. Obviously, you don’t want to get the hard ginger candy, but the soft stuff for easy chopping.)

Special Equipment: 10″ bundt pan (3¼” deep; 3-qt capacity)
Garnish: confectioner’s sugar for dusting
Accompaniment: 3 C eggnog, chilled

In small bowl, combine raisins and rum. Let stand until raisins plump, about 1 hour. Drain, discarding rum, and set aside.

Position rack in middle of oven and preheat to 350°. Lightly butter bundt pan, then dust with flour, knocking out excess.

In large mixing bowl or bowl of electric mixer, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, allspice, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and salt. Add brown and granulated sugars, butter, eggs, and vanilla. Using electric mixer, beat on high speed, scraping down sides of bowl with rubber spatula as needed, until batter is pale and smooth, about 3 minutes for handheld mixer or 2 minutes for standing mixer. Stir in apples, pecans, ginger, and raisins. Spoon into prepared pan and smooth top.

Bake until wooden pick or skewer inserted in center of cake comes out clean and cake just shrinks from sides of pan, about 1 hour. Cool cake in pan on rack 10 minutes, then invert and unmold onto rack and cool completely. (Cake can be made up to 3 days ahead and stored at room temperature, wrapped tightly in plastic wrap.)

Just before serving, sift confectioner’s sugar over cake. Serve accompanied by eggnog.

Results

Well, I have to say that is the easiest sauce I’ve ever made. Crack open a carton of noggy goodness and pour it on. I served the eggnog in my gravy boat. Yes, I washed the gravy boat between the meal and dessert. What kind of person has more than one gravy boat? (Mom, I’m looking at you.)

Also, I’m now the proud owner of a bundt pan. (I know… I was totally surprised that I didn’t have one, too!)

Anyway, this is a pretty easy cake to make, smells amazing baking in the oven, and keeps moist wrapped in plastic on the counter. So, epicrack didn’t lie on that score. Oh, and this makes a great breakfast cake.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by daisyandthefox on 11.30.2012 - 4:09 am

    this looks delicious!! 🙂

  2. #2 by Bam's Kitchen on 12.4.2012 - 6:50 pm

    Yum!

Leave a Reply

