New Year, New Goals

Happy belated new year! After taking a bit of time off, I’m feeling rather renewed and refreshed. I’m not big on resolutions, but I do like setting goals for the new year. I feel like goals are so much more measurable than resolutions. I can resolve to do a lot of things. But where’s the accountability? (I’ve spent enough time in corporate America to know that if you can’t throw it in a graph or on a PowerPoint, it’s not really worth it, is it?)

To that end, I’ve set some goals for this blog in 2013. In order to make myself more accountable, I’m publishing them so that come December 1, 2013, I can have a small panic attack when I realize that I haven’t met any of them. So, here they are:

  • A more structured blog with (hopefully) more posts. What do I mean by this? Well, next week I’m starting a feature for Monday posts entitled (not so cleverly) Meatless Mondays where I’ll bring you a weekly vegetarian recipe. I’ll also post restaurant reviews on Fridays to give Chicago area denizens a leg up on weekend planning.
  • Read and review at least four food-related books. (I already know I’m going to fail miserably at this one… but I’ll give it my best shot.)
  • An inventory of my cookbooks cross-referenced with past blog posts
  • Post about old cooking implements once a month
  • More guest bloggers
  • Write about my other culinary excursions. (Intrigued? So am I as I haven’t decided what these excursions will entail… but I promise they’ll be good.)

I’ve deemed this coming year one of careful consideration—not only in what I write, but in my life in general. Last year, I found myself running in circles, never getting where I wanted to go and stressing out while trying. My solution? Make a very short list each day. The list will contain three items for the day:

  1. One thing that has to get done (clean the bathroom, laundry, or some other loathsome task)
  2. One thing that I want to do for just me (write, read a book)
  3. One thing that will make my life easier in the long-run (organize a closet, switch internet providers [you’re on notice, AT&T])

That’s it. I do the three things on the list. I’m not making a 50 item list to feel like crap when I fail to complete most of it. And, if it’s not on the list, I don’t HAVE to do it. So, if snaking the bathroom drain isn’t on the list, but it gets done… then rock on, me. But, I’m not sweating it.

Oh, and the list doesn’t carry over. If I don’t get something done on Monday, I’m not putting that same thing on Tuesday’s list. Of course, eventually, the laundry will have to find a way back onto the daily list. But maybe that’s why people take their laundry to a wash and fold. I work from home so I never really have to look like a human being. I can just wear my PJs all week (and, yes, maybe I’ve done that once or five times… feel free to start the new year by judging me… I am here for your amusement). What I’m saying is there are options!

So, welcome to the new year. I hope this one is a dandy, a doozy, or somewhere in between.

, , ,

  1. #1 by kostielney on 1.9.2013 - 12:59 pm

    poetry?childrens book?childrens poetry book?,or something short, like things i like about my dad.

Leave a Reply

