Stacking Brunch

I’m always on the hunt for the perfect brunch. Right now, my criteria are:

  • Fabulous food (always a must)
  • Short wait
  • Kid-friendly
  • Tons of carbs (see above… my kid is a carb loader)
  • Not super expensive

Stax Cafe LogoThanks to a friend’s recommendation, I can now add Stax Café to the list for brunching. The place has a ton of configurable tables, so if you go early on brunching days, the wait isn’t going to kill you. (They open at 7 a.m. for those of you who breakfast rather than brunch. Silly, sad early morning people. You make me sigh in exhaustion.) The floors are wood (read kid-friendly). Paul thought that the décor wasn’t much to talk about, but I appreciate loads of sunny windows and easy access to the tables without having my butt in another diner’s face.

As far as the food.. .well, it’s called Stax presumably because of the stacks and stacks of pancakes and crepes offered up on the menu. They also have eggs and lunch items as well. Oh, not to be missed are the fresh squeezed juices from the juice bar.

And, for cheap eats, they have a dish called the Starving Student—two eggs, two slices of bacon, and toast for less than $8.50. Can’t beat that with a stick (or stack… see what I did there?)

What We Ate

I had the parma prosciutto eggs Benedict. It’s two poached eggs sitting on top of polenta cakes with prosciutto, hollandaise, and parmesan cheese. Paul had some sort of meat mess. Quite frankly, I wasn’t paying attention to what he was eating. I was pretty consumed with my amazing plate. (Oh, how I love a savory breakfast.)

After conferring with the waitress, Mr. Moo had an order of plain pancakes. I briefly considered the banana cakes but the bananas are baked in and I had fear of the little due having a fit to find fruit inside his pancake. (They also have chocolate and peanut butter pancakes that I’d like to give a whirl one day.)

What We Drank

This is a non alcohol brunch place (another reason the bill is reasonable). So, coffee (Intelligentsia, thank you very much) and juices all around.

Location: 1401 W. Taylor. Street parking is pretty easy. They’re only open until 3 or 3:30 depending upon the day so no late night brekkies for you!

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

