Archive for March 11th, 2013

Mermaids Monday

I’ve been having a Mermaids moment lately. Well, let’s be honest. I’ve been having a Mermaids month. Of what, pray tell, am I speaking? It’s the moment in time when you realize that you’ve actually been cooking like Cher in Mermaids. I know, not a very good movie to be referencing, but it kind of sticks with you, right? Oh, you haven’t seen it? Or, at least, not recently? Have no idea what I’m blathering on about?

Fine. I guess I have to do all the heavy lifting in this relationship. Cher starred as a single mother in the 1950s or 1960s. Her daughters were played by Winona Ryder and Christina Ricci back when they were young, dark haired, and not at all having troubles with their careers. Anyway, Cher’s character would only ever make finger food for dinner. That’s it. Just canapés, things on sticks, and chips with dips. I’ve been kind of doing that lately. And, even better, they haven’t been anything terribly creative. We’re talking the Kraft web site here… nothing fancy.

That’s right, I took a month off from blogging to bring you carrot pinwheels from kraft.com. (February in the Midwest just depresses the hell out of me.)

Carrot Pinwheels

  • 4 flour tortillas (8″)
  • 6 T chive and onion cream cheese (although I’ve used regular cream cheese)
  • 4 carrots, finely shredded (about 1 C… I discourage buying the pre-shredded variety as they are a bit too fat and long to make a decent roll)
  • 4 green onions, thinly sliced

Spread tortillas with cream cheese. Top with vegetables. Roll the tortillas tightly; wrap individually in plastic wrap. Refrigerate 30 minutes.

Unwrap roll-ups; cut each into six pieces just before serving.

Results

You’ll really only get four or five pieces per wrap, depending upon how thin you slice them. (If you want pretty rolls, you’ll have to snip off the rounded edges of the tortillas. So, that limits what you can serve. Or, instead of 8″ tortillas, opt for the large 10″ variety to get more out of each roll.)

Carrot pinwheels on a plate

Obviously, I doubled the recipe.

And, that’s it. Easy as wrap! They’re good for appetizers or if you have a finicky toddler at home. I’m not going to oversell it because it’s just a wrap, after all.

, , , ,

Leave a comment